skip navigation

SSPYHA Paul Moen Most Valuable Teammate Award (MVT)


SSPYHA is excited to announce the 2021-2022 Paul Moen Most Valuable Teammate (MVT) Award winners! 

Throughout this season, these individuals exhibited an attitude of Respect for Self, Teammates, Coaches, Opponents and Referees. Additionally, they always gave Maximum Effort and were a Positive Influence on teammates either directly or by example, at the rink, at school or in the neighborhood.  Elected by their teammates, each recipient will receive a certificate and a $25 gift card from the Taco House.  

Please congratulate these outstanding citizens of SSPYHA!

2021-2022 Paul Moen MVT Award winners:
+Bantam B1: Ethan Unglesbee
+Bantam B2: Travis Elsner*
SSP 12U B: Keira Furman
+PeeWee A: Greyson Simons*
+PeeWee B1: Ellis Woverus*
+PeeWee B2: Caleb Karas*
+PeeWee C: Hank Keller / Earl Skarda

+Squirt B1: Sawyer Husemann
+Squirt B2: Benjamin Burgos Frias
+Squirt C: Audrey Schultz*
SSP 8U: Hailey Doepke*
SSP Mites: Jaxon Kvilhaug*/ Michael LeVesseur
+ Co-op w/IGH     *2X winner   


2020-2021 Paul Moen MVT Award winners:
Bantam B2: Luke Ransom / Ian Kroski
+PeeWee B1: Jackson Schultz** / Jace Erb*
+PeeWee B2: Greyson Simons / Myles Woltman
+PeeWee B2: Louis Ahern / Riley Anich
+PeeWee C: Cole Ransom / Ellis Woverus
U10B: Amelia Frederick

Squirt B2: Nolan Nerka*
Squirt C: Caleb Karas / Nathaniel Longen
Mite Maroon: Hailey Doepke
Mite Gold: Jaxon Kvilhaug
+ Co-op w/IGH     *2X winner     **3X winner    

2019-2020 Packer Prestige Award winners:
+Bantam A: Joseph Stanton
+Bantam B1: Ray Rozales
+Bantam B2: Rowen McKnight
+Bantam C: Matthias Schaefer

U12B: Jordyn Dybsetter**
+PeeWee B1: Jackson Schultz*
+PeeWee B2: Sawyer Immel
+PeeWee C: Brody Nerka
U10B: Elsie Ahern/Madelyn Evazich

Squirt A: Jace Erb
Squirt B: Julia Burgos Frias

Squirt C: Nolan Nerka/Owen Vars
Mite 4: Ethan Elsner
+ Co-op w/IGH     *2X winner     **3X winner    

2018-2019 Packer Prestige Award winners:
Bantam B2: Ian Miner*
U12A: Bailey Vesper
U12B: Shay Mikkelson

PeeWee A: Jack McClellan
PeeWee B2: Owen Medina
PeeWee C: Travis Elsner

Squirt B Maroon: Jackson Schultz
Squirt B White: Isaac Ahern

Squirt C: Jordyn Dybsetter*/Evan Emery*
U8: Audrey Schultz
Mite 4: Parker Knudson
*repeat winners

2017-2018 Packer Prestige Award winners:
Bantam B1:  Luke Dobmeyer
Bantam B2:  Ian Miner
U12B:  Janis Jackels
PeeWee B1:  Emmett Ahern
PeeWee B2:  Johnathan Neumann
U10B:  Jordyn Dybsetter
Squirt B:  Connor Tokheim-Wood
Squirt C:  Evan Emery
U8:  Kylynn Glennie
Mite 4:  Owen Shepard

Paul Moen

SSPYHA is proud to dedicate the Packer Prestige MVT Award in honor of long time SSP hockey coach and mentor, Paul Moen.

Known affectionately as "Moensie", Paul Moen grew up in South St. Paul, MN where he continues to live and coach to this day. Revered by his local community for decades of dedication to high school athletics, Moen has made a unique and lasting impression on hockey in Minnesota, having been involved as a coach, official and administrator for over 30 years.

Moen got his start coaching at the Bantam level in South St. Paul in the late 1960’s before being called upon by Doug Woog to help as an assistant coach at the high school level in 1979, a position he holds to this day.

Around the same time, Moen became more involved in officiating as well, taking on the role of scheduling officials for the surrounding region. In 1983, Moen helped organize the Minnesota Hockey Officials Association (MHOA) to enhance the structure and development of officiating across the state. He even served as MHOA President for a short time.

During his time with MHOA, Moen was introduced to Ted Brill, who invited him to coach in the High Performance Boys 15 (formerly Advanced 15’s) program in the mid-1980’s.  Moen became a fixture in the Boys 15 program, assisting with the program’s festivals as a coach, evaluator and committee member for over 30 years. 

Moen also became involved in what then known as the Maroon and Gold High School All-Star Series, which was designed to showcase the top high school seniors in Minnesota. Moen assumed the role of program director for the event and has seen it evolve over his 25 years of involvement into the current Great 8 Festival, which features four teams of high school juniors and four senior teams.

Moen has impacted thousands of hockey players over the years, locally in South St. Paul and across the state. His efforts have earned him an extended list of accolades including:

  • Minnesota Hockey President Awards in 2001 and 2015
  • High School Section Assistant Coach of the Year in 1995, 2005 and 2008
  • State Assistant Coach of the Year in 1995
  • Vintage MN Hockey Dave Peterson Award in 2006
  • MN Hockey Ted Brill Award in 2018
  • SSP Athletic Hall of Fame inductee in 2019

Thank you, Paul, for your unending devotion towards helping hockey players in South St. Paul and across Minnesota reach their potential on and off the ice!